Small Distractions

From my experiences, I have learned that several approaches can become a major threat to any plan. No one easily admits “I allowed small distractions to interfere with obtaining my important goals.”  How could working on several things prevent you from winning? It caused me to be scattered and I would spread myself too thin. It was one of those things. I was doing a lot of work but accomplishing very little. I had to stop and ask myself, “Why can’t I master this specific task?”

It wasn’t until recently that I experienced using the best strategy in accomplishing huge goals. I began to focus my attention on a few things at a time. For example, my entire house needs organizing. Even the thoughts of tackling it were overwhelming, but the day I chose to do “only the kitchen first” is the day my home started to be transformed. I was always doing a little each day, but it was a little here and a little there. I decided to aim all of those efforts in one direction and was able to see results immediately.

Did life stop while I worked on one major goal at a time? No it did not. I still did the regular routine things of cooking, washing clothes, working, dishes, etc.  The thing that had to stop was organizing small areas here and there throughout the house.  Allowing the small destructions had to stop. Instead I focused on finishing one huge area at a time.

This strategy will work differently for each thing, but the concept is the same. For example, you may have a party you want to pull together. There will be lots of little things to do, but jumping in and doing a lot of small things will present certain challenges. Have you ever taken a trip to the grocery store and returned home without the main thing? Well, I have and it was not fun. You must plan first, before getting started. Creating the checklist and a time to complete each will help you prioritize your time and efforts. Can you think of areas where being distracted may sabotage success? Share your thoughts and let us know what you learned from that experience.

Leave a Reply

